St Combs is a small coastal village, about 5 miles south of the town of Fraserburgh. Historically a fishing village, this small community has a unique atmosphere where fisher cottages were originally built with gable end facing the wrath of the North Sea gales.
The village boasts its own primary school, a couple of churches, local café, and also chip shop which also serves arguably the best ice cream in the north east. The Tufted Duck Hotel is situated at the south end of the village with beautiful views of the coastline and also comprises of a restaurant and local bar. Other amenities in the village include children’s playpark, football pitches and recently constructed community hall which is locally ran.
The beautiful sandy beach stretches from the village all the way to Peterhead and is backed by hills and grassy dunes some of which can be up to 75 feet (23m) high. It makes for a lovely walk along this mostly untouched coastline down towards Rattray Head lighthouse. It is not uncommon to see pods of seals swimming and basking along the shoreline.
This area of the north east coast can be described as having a micro-climate and can be one of the sunnier parts of the country although can often suffer from severe storms.
The village has a very strong community spirit and organises many events during the year including a gala during the summer months. At the north side of the village, the Inverallochy Golf Course is believed to have opened the same year as Peterhead Prison Museum in 1888.
There are good road and bus links between the village and the towns of Fraserburgh and Peterhead.